Your source for NJ's underground music

Waiting at the Bus Stop

I stopped by the Bus Stop Cafe in Pitman, NJ to see what others had talked about. What I found was an old-fashioned music store infused with an amazing café and a vibrant music scene that I didn’t even know existed in Pitman. As You walk in the door, instantly you feel the need to order a cappuccino and stay awhile.

This message was taken from The Bus Stop’s myspace page:

“Make The Bus Stop YOUR stop for great food and great music! Since 2005, The Bus Stop Music Café has been working hard to bring you the things you love. Enjoy our award winning food and coffee menu, our HUGE selection of new and used Vinyl, CD’s and Cassettes, our affordable music lessons for all ages (voted best in Gloucester County two years running) and music equipment. Come on out to the Bus Stop for a fun night out at a reasonable price. Eat in or take out, call-ins welcome.”

Victor Martinson, the owner, allowed me take some pictures of his record store/café. He also informed me that they hold an open mic every Tuesday night. Looks like I have another weekly stop on my open mic circuit!

When I was there I happened to catch a performance by String Theory, a local alternative blues band. They played a two-hour set that covered the entire spectrum of blues. Unfortunately, they told me that they didn’t have any music posted online so I thought I’d record a bit.

Below is a slide show of some pictures I took. The background music was produced by me but at the end of the video there’s a short clip of String Theory playing their original song “Any Major Dude”. Enjoy!

One response

  1. Pingback: Farewell? « The NJ Avant-Garde

Leave a Reply

